From David Maude, 603

Our local falcons, denizens of the City Hall tower,  produced 3 chicks this year.  They  have quickly grown to adult size, and 2 have struck out on their own.   I worried about the third,  which didn’t seem to fly much.  A few days ago it alighted on our deck rail and then posed for the attached photographs.  This also worried me, since healthy birds usually stay away from people.  (I don’t know if falcons are different – they can be trained to capture prey and bring it back to their master.)  But the next day I saw it eating a bird on a high ledge of City Hall.  So I guess it learned how to hunt, and will probably survive.

 

From Joan Hausrath, 504

A couple of days ago I heard a very loud squawking noise which led to discovering a falcon on a ledge under the windows of 506 and 507, in the space between the Vesta and Lebanon buildings.*  (You can see this space through the windows above the mural in the lobby.)

 

*The Vesta Building is to the left when you enter the building and the Lebanon Building is to the right and is sited along the river.  The buildings are named after the knitting mills that once utilized the buildings.